ECP decides against de-seating 20 dissident PTI MNAs, dismisses references against them – Pakistan


Pakistan Electoral Commission (ECP) on Wednesday ruled that 20 opposition to Pakistan Tehreek-Insaf (PTI) Members of the National Assembly (MNAs), had rejected the anti-party slogans sent by the party.

Chief Electoral Commissioner (CEC) Sikandar Sultan Raja presided over the three-member ECP bench which handed down the verdict, which he had held earlier in the day.

Reading the verdict, the ECP said it was a consensus decision and would be released later on the ECP website. The ECP noted that the references to the antichrists were not in line with Article 63-A of the Constitution.

Responding to the verdict, PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry, in a statement, said the ECP decision was “foolish” but “expected” as it was already clear what the electoral body would reach.

He said the organization would fight “this law” and win with the support of the people. “This decision of the electoral commission will be challenged in the High Court,” he said, adding that a reference would be made to Raja to the Supreme Court.

The former information minister announced plans to move forward on the day.

“The Electoral Commission has become the B PML-N party,” Chaudhry said. “The ECP says those who left the party are still part of it lotha (turncoats) were sending pictures of Nawaz Sharif to their places, ”he added.

Later, he took to Twitter to criticize the decision taken by the ECP as a form of “institutionalized” control.


The matter first came to light in March after several PTI lawmakers were found living in Sindh House in Islamabad ahead of a vote of no confidence in former Imran Khan, some of whom have spoken to the media about their grievances with the organization.

They have denied allegations that they were given money to make the opposition’s no-confidence motion a success but said they would vote “according to their conscience”.

Subsequently, the PTI has filed declarations and references against 20 members of the National Assembly, seeking their disqualification under Article 63-A of the Constitution.

PTI filed directives against MNAs Noor Alam Khan, Dr Mohammad Afzal Khan Dhandla, Nawab Sher Waseer, Raja Riaz Ahmad, Ahmed Hussain Deharr, Rana Mohammad Qasim Noon, Asim Nazeer, Amjad Farooq Khosa, Aamir Liaquat Hussain, Farued Symbol, Chaudah Mobeen Ahmed, Sayed Sami-ul-Hassan Gillani, Mohammad Abdul Ghaffar Wattoo, Sayed Basit Ahmad Sultan, Aamir Talal Gopang, Sardar Riaz Mehmood Khan Mazari, Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, Wajiha Qamar, Nuzhat Pathan and Javeria Zafar.

In the end, the votes of the opposition MNAs were not required for the removal of Imran, as the opposition party was able to mobilize support from the political parties working with the government.

After Imran Khan was ousted as prime minister on the night of April 9, his protests against the opposition PTI MNAs were sent to the ECP on April 14 by the acting NA spokesman.

Last month, the Electoral Commission issued notices to 20 MNAs, instructing them to appear before it.

In their written responses, the rebellious MNAs said they did not withdraw from the PTI, nor did they join any political party, and did not vote against their defined parties.

The ad and the reference were “baseless, unsubstantiated and unclear”, one response was read.

“It has been influenced by the superstitious beliefs and practices of the sects of the sects. Those actions are like turning a party into a dictatorship that has been dictated to by one dictatorial mind, ”the response said.

One response submitted to the ECP stated that the reference and declaration did not meet the requirements of Article 63-A.

Article 63-A

In terms of Article 63-A of the Constitution, parliament may be barred on the grounds of treason if “a vote or refusal to vote in the House against any directive issued by a parliamentary party, in relation to an election of Parliament; the prime minister or prime minister; the draft Constitution (amendment).

The article states that the head of the group must declare in writing that the MNA is affected but before issuing the declaration, the party head will “give such a member an opportunity to show why the declaration may not be made to him”.

After giving the member the opportunity to state their reasons, the party leader will forward the notice to the speaker, who will forward it to the Chief Electoral Commissioner (CEC). The CEC will have 30 days to verify the declaration. If approved by the CEC, a member “shall cease to be a member of the House and his or her seat shall be vacant”.

Leave a Comment